Click on An Image To Visit The Site

Shiraws Logo photo Shirlaws Logo_zpsxhmrizdx.jpg

To have your banner/link displayed contact

Please support Irishroadracers.Com - by making a donation - All monies recived are used to maintain the hosting - operating costs of Our Sites - Radio Stations. - Promoting Road Racing All Over The World
December 12, 2018, 06:50:07 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
  Home Help Search Store Gallery Links Calendar Login Register Chat  

Coates clinches David Wood Memorial Trophy at Bishopscourt

Click On An Image Below For Live Timing - Classic Rock - Moto Podcasts - Live Race Broadcasts - Recorded Commentaries
New layer...
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Coates clinches David Wood Memorial Trophy at Bishopscourt  (Read 301 times)
Hero Member
Offline Offline

Posts: 14756

« on: September 22, 2014, 10:23:24 am »

Belfast Newsletter

Nikki Coates triumphed in the inaugural Davy Wood Memorial Trophy races at Bishopscourt on Saturday to take the feature prize at the County Down meeting.

The Belfast rider was pushed to the limit in both 600cc races, which took top billing at the Motor Cycle Road Racing Club of Ireland’s event given Woods’ instrumental role in bringing 600cc race to Northern Ireland, most notably with the establishment of the Regal Championship.

Carl Phillips, had to contend with Robert Kennedy and Jamie Patterson in race one, who ensured his run to the flag was anything but straightforward.

The Yamaha rider managed to come out on top, but at the flag Coates was only 0.140 seconds clear of Kennedy with Patterson on the Team RPM

Performance Suzuki only three tenths of a second behind as he nailed down the last podium position.

Jason Lynn on the Walter Bell Suzuki finished 1.9 seconds behind the winner in fourth, with Mark Conlin and Robert English the top six.

Phillips, who qualified fastest on the Sandown Racing Yamaha, came home in seventh place followed by Christian Elkin and Robert Glasgow.

All eyes were on Coates in race two as he set to secure the David Wood Memorial Trophy and once more the pace was red-hot in the warm and sunny conditions at Bishopscourt.

Yet again Patterson and Kennedy were snapping at Coates’ heels but the 25-year-old kept a cool head to prevail for the second time as he wrapped up a double, lifting the silverware spoils and a earning a cheque for £800 for his efforts.

His margin of victory in race two was three tenths of a second over Patterson after nine laps of the 1.8-mile circuit with Kennedy having to settle for third this time following his runner-up result in the opener.

Phillips filled fourth place again, with Conlin and Elkin next ahead of English and Jamie Hamilton, who completed the top eight on Wilson Craig’s Honda.

In the Superbike class, Portadown’s Marshall Neill was a cut above the rest as the National Superstock 1000 regular rattled off a double on the Ryan McGill Joinery Kawasaki.

Neill, who qualified on pole position with 1.1 seconds in hand over Stephen Thompson on the Bathams BMW, eased to victory in the opening race by 5.7 seconds from Thompson, with Jamie Hamilton third on the Wilson Craig Honda.

Alistair Kirk took fourth, with Supersport double winner Coates a respectable fifth on his 600cc Yamaha ahead of Phillip McNally.

Neill - riding high after scoring a treble at the Adelaide Masters round at Bishopscourt last month before following up with a sizzling four-timer at the next round at Mondello Park at the end of August - completed a textbook victory in race two, winning by almost five seconds from Hamilton.

Kirk had the edge over Thompson for third, with Mark Glasgow and McNally the top six.

Korie McGreevy and Phillip McNally won the Supertwin races, with Arai ‘Man of the Meeting’ Michael Rea sealing a double in the Production 650 class.

Christian Elkin won both Moto3 (125GP) races with Alvin Griffin taking a Supersport 400 brace.

Thomas Lawlor doubled up in the 250GP races while Mervyn Griffin won the Pre Injection races from Jonathan Ralph.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Due to a recent server problem, some recent new usernames may have been deleted, if you find that this is the case re your username, please re register.

Please note, this site uses tracking cookies, to establish the number of hits received.